Nobody wants to get a DUI, so that’s why we’ve put together this guide on how to help you stay under the 0.08% BAC limit and not get DUI in Arizona.
Look, we’re not here to judge, we just want everyone to be safe and happy out on those trails!
In this UTVTrade.com guide, we cover:
And more! Maybe you already got a DUI in Arizona and you’re reading this, and that’s okay—what we want is for you to be your best self and stay out of trouble in the process.
So let’s start off by defining an extreme DUI and what that entails:
Did I initially think that an extreme DUI was driving drunk while riding my dirtbike? Maybe.
But that’s not actually what it is. According to ADOT, an extreme DUI applies to any person driving with a BAC level of 0.15 or higher. These are the charges you don’t want to catch because the consequences are gnarlier than just a regular DUI (which you also don’t want).
It’s important to know what the consequences of an extreme DUI are to help keep prevent you from making dumb choices.
In Arizona, an extreme DUI will land you 30 days (minimum) jail time, and fines of no less than $2500.
The Cleveland Clinic states that for most states (including Arizona), the line for illegal operation of a vehicle stands at 0.08% BAC.
In Arizona, if you’re driving a commercial vehicle you are allowed to have under 0.04% BAC
Think of it in tiers–the less extreme the DUI, the more leniant the consequences.
As far as my research shows, a regular DUI is when your blood alcohol content exceeds 0.08% and an extreme DUI is if you’re BAC is 0.15% or higher.
Some law firms in Arizona state that there’s also an additional charge called a super extreme DUI if you’re BAC exceeds .20%, but I’m not seeing anything about that on ADOT.
The bottom line, though, is just don’t drink and drive people. It’s pretty simple!
To shortly summarize, let’s remember that there are two different initial offenses for DUI in Arizona according to ADOT:
When your BAC exceeds 0.08%.
When your BAC exceeds 0.15% (no, it’s not driving your UTV while tipsy!).
Newton’s Third Law says that every action has an equal and opposite reaction. This same rule especially applies to driving drunk in Arizona.
Aside from the interlock ignition device which is required to be used after every DUI offense, here are the consequences you’ll face for driving tipsy in Arizona according to the Arizona Department of Public Safety:
Between 24 hrs-10 days jail time, $250 base fine, 90 days to 1 year of license suspension.
Between 30-90 days jail time, $500 base fine, and 1 year of license suspension.
Minimum 4 months in jail, $750 base fine, and 1 year of license suspension.
Getting caught up in the law isn’t fun for anybody, so doesn’t it seem reasonable to avoid being charged with a DUI in Arizona at all costs?
Aside from the hefty fines of thousands of dollars, perhaps the worst part about getting a DUI is that your driver’s license gets suspended and your vehicle gets impounded.
Let’s be honest, getting a DUI is a tough charge because it deprives you of a critical survival factor: you vehicle.
Not to mention that your rates for insurance will skyrocket once they find out you are driving around tipsy.
Don’t forget about that annoying breathalyzer device that hook up to your car’s ignition and makes you blow into it every time you want to drive around.
And yes, in many cases the state of Arizona requires DUI offenders to use a certified ignition interlock device while driving to prevent irresponsible drivers from getting into trouble all over again.
In any case, if you have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle you’ll need to blow below 0.02% BAC before your vehicle will start.
Legal advice is sometimes necessary when defending yourself in an extreme DUI case.
I’m not going to go in-depth because I’m not an Arizona lawyer, but I can tell you that you’re probably going to need a lawyer if you get a DUI to help prevent charges.
It’s completely rational sometimes to think that you were pulled over without reasonable cause or are somehow not in the wrong.
If this really is the case, you do have the right to challenge the case in court.
Hm, questioning the accuracy of a BAC test is something that you can most definitely do, but it’s probably not going to do you any good in many cases.
Arguing for reduced charges or alternative sentencing options, however, may help you to get your license back faster and cut a better deal with the judge.
–> Are you looking to buy, sell, or trade a UTV? Check our listings!
I know firsthand that abusing alcohol destroys families and relationships, so I would advise anyone suffering from alcohol abuse to get help in one form or another.
On the other hand, drinking responsibly does take the edge off of life (if you can handle it), and it’s easy to be in control with a little bit of discipline.
I wish you all the best in your endeavors, and by golly, please go to the dunes with your buddies, build a fire, and enjoy your life.
So there it is! We encourage you to always make the most responsible decisions when having a great time. Remember, nobody is perfect, accidents do happen, and the best way to do things from the road to the dunes is the responsible way!